A leap of Faith

It’s been a while!

I haven’t had much time to sit down and write. These past few weeks have been a little busy. This past weekend I went to the last Dare 2 Share conference and it was amazing! Like always, they have such great speakers,a drama and good music, that really gets to your heart.

IMG_3334

This year they really stressed the importance of sharing the Gospel. They talked about how, if you had the chance to share the gospel with someone you knew needed to hear it, but you didn’t, what if they died and went to hell? If you had the chance and you didn’t take it. What if that was a friend? That really got to me, but then in the drama, they talked about how almost every second, a person dies. They started snapping their fingers and you could just think about the people who might be dying and going to hell. That could be someone you know. “One of these days this could be a friend, a family member, or you.” The man said as he snapped his fingers. That was it for me. That was what made me realized… our job isn’t done, once we have accepted Christ. We have a duty to share with others God’s grace and love! We have a duty to be witnesses of God. We need to get God’s news across the world with urgency! I always thought people knew what the gospel is and who God is. I think because I grew up in a Christian family, I didn’t realize that some people have never heard of Jesus. Some people don’t know what the gospel is. It’s our job to tell them.

“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Mathew 28:19-20

This is a command from God. To make a disciple, you have to be a disciple.

Something I have struggled with for years, is shyness and self confidence. I don’t like talking to people I don’t know very well and I am always aware of what people might be thinking of me. This has eaten me up for years. Because I didn’t have much self confidence, I missed out on things. I missed out on really cool opportunities and that is something I will always regret. So when I went to Dare 2 Share for the first time (last year), they told us to go out and collect canned goods, door to door. We would go up and ask them if they had anything to donate and then ask them if there was anything we could pray for and if we could share a little bit about what we were learning at our youth conference. I was terrified. Not only were we going door to door to share the gospel and talk with strangers, but we were also going with a church group that I had never met before. I had to meet new people and then talk to more new people about the gospel! Scary!

This was a huge leap of faith for me. I knew all I could do was trust God and rely on him to give me the right words to say, but I had never felt so uncontrolled! Well, it turns out that not that many people were home or answered the doors. Those who did open their doors, didn’t want to be prayed for or hear about the gospel. I was relieved at first because I didn’t really even talk to anyone, but then I started to feel guilty. I felt guilty because deep down I think, I didn’t really want to share the gospel. I felt like I had wasted a chance to be used by God and to follow his commands. So this year, I pushed myself a little more. I called out to God many times in my head, praying that he would help me to step up and be a disciple, I prayed that he would take away my fear and that I would hold onto his peace. This time I wanted to share the gospel to someone. So this time, I was with people from my church, they weren’t people I was very close to (except for one of my best friends), but I felt more comfortable with them. We went door to door just like last time and when it was my turn to go up….. nobody answered the door.

Like last year, most people didn’t answer the door. I thought, it’s just like last year. Most of the groups didn’t get to talk with anyone, but I realized that it wasn’t like last year. This year, I had a change in my heart and I wanted to try.

I felt a change in myself because, everyday I am learning how to trust God with my life. I am learning to remember that God is with me everywhere. I am learning to focus on God more than myself. Focusing on God helps me forget about the evil and the fear in the world. I focus on God because when I am talking with him, I can’t hear the lies and the attacks. I just feel at peace. I can feel God’s hand on me and I feel protected.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

It is sooo easy to get sucked in to the world and all the things happening around us. It’s so easy to worry and fill our minds with the scary thoughts of this world, but God says “Talk to me!”. By praying to God, we can ask him for peace and his perfect peace will guard us. Keep talking to God. It’s at those moments when we stop talking with God for just a millisecond, that the devil will distract us and attack.

We will have bad days and struggles, but never forget that God is with you at all times! The Creator of the universe, the God Almighty, He lives in you and He is watching over you! He has overcome the world! We can rejoice in that because we do not have to fear the world! The things we go through, the struggles and tribulations are part of God’s plan. His plan isn’t to harm you, but to help you grow and persevere. You will be made strong through those times. Trust in God and keep him as your focus. He has overcome the world, no problem is too big or too small for the God of the universe.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

