Taking a chance

If you know me, you would know that I am a very shy person. Although, if you know me very well, then I might not seem so shy. Talking isn’t my strong suit and public speaking is completely out of the question…. or is it? That’s what I’ve been asking myself lately. Now that school is out, I have a whole summer ahead of me with lots of free time. This is around the time when my friends at church start to head out on a missions trip. There was an opportunity for me to join a team and go to different areas to preach, but I quickly turned it down because I didn’t think God was calling me to it. I started to wonder if maybe I was just saying that because I was afraid, maybe I wasn’t actually listening to God. I tend to turn certain opportunities down and then later regret the decision I made. I was feeling guilty for not taking my time to seriously think it over and pray for God’s wisdom. I told myself, I would devote myself to finding something else to do to serve God, but nothing really came up. I was beginning to feel discouraged, I had made a selfish choice and was dealing with the consequences. I realized that I had faith, but I didn’t live like I did. If I was to meet a stranger, there wasn’t anything about me that said, “I am a Christian, Jesus Christ is my Lord and Savior.” I blamed that on my shyness, it was holding me back. So I prayed to God and asked Him to give me a chance to prove I have faith, and that my shyness wouldn’t get in the way. Weeks later, another opportunity appeared and this time I jumped for the new chance. There were actually two opportunities! Both of them are for Evangelism. We will be going out to share the gospel and talk with people. I didn’t expect myself to sign up so willingly, but I knew it was God doing the hard part for me. He took away my fear and gave me a moment of boldness and that was what I needed. I felt proud just to pick up the application, I was finally going to try something new and in a way that would pleased God! As I look toward the weeks when we start to train and go out, I am laying my life in God’s hands. I am relying on Him to get me through it because I am still scared of what may come and if I will have the right things to say,  if I’ll remember my message, or even be used to help someone, but I can’t focus on that and let it scare me. What I really need to do is trust that God is taking care of me and remember why I am doing it in the first place. Below are a couple of my favorite verses that really encourage me and remind me that I am not alone, God wants to help us.

PSALM 55:22 “Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous be shaken.”

ISAIAH 41:13 “For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.”

PHILIPPPIANS 4:6-7 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your request to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

He hears your prayers.

 

Leave a comment